Annual conference on ‘Student Innovation, Start‐Ups and Ecosystem’

Government of Gujarat, under Student Start-up and Innovation Policy (SSIP) Cell and Gujarat Knowledge Society (GKS) organized an SSIP ‘Annual Conference’ on ‘Student Innovation, Start-ups and Ecosystem’, on 6-7 June. EDII hosted the Conference which focused at providing a platform to academic researchers, practising professionals and others to present their research ideas around the theme of startup and innovation.


Shri Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, Hon’ble Education Minister, Gujarat State was the Chief Guest at the Conference, while Smt. Vibhavariben Dave, Hon’ble Minister of State, Education and Dr J. N. Singh, Chief Secretary, Govt. of Gujarat were Guest of Honours. Smt. Anju Sharma, Principal Secretary, Education Department, Government of Gujarat and Smt. Avantika Singh Aulakh, CEO, GKS Commissioner, Technical Education, Government of Gujarat were the motivators  behind organizing the conference. Other prominent speakers present at the inaugural session were Shri Kris Gopalakrishnan, Co-founder, Infosys and Chairman, Axilor Ventures, Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE, and Dr. H. Purshotham, CMD, National Research Development Corporation (NRDC).


  • 155 start-ups and 118 young innovators from across the country participated in the Conference, along with 18 academic institutions, 9 universities and 79 mentors.
  • 11 student start-ups, 5 young innovators along with 3 institutions, 3 universities, 10 mentors, and 11 SSIP coordinators received the ‘SSIP Prashansha Awards’.
  • Over 550 participants including researchers, students, academia, practicing professionals and investors attended the two day conference.

Startups from EDII received the 'SSIP Prashansha Award'

Nikita Maheshwari, founder, Tatkalorry Pvt. Ltd. received Growth stage Student Start-up award with cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000/-.

Advait Raval, founder, KYS Scientific Pvt. Ltd. received Campus Start-ups/early birds award with cash prize of Rs. 50,000/-.